Neglected Sundays

Posted: October 30, 2011 by antoniobunt in Angry Man, Neglected Sundays
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Forgive me father for I have sinned! It’s been almost five years since my last confession. I haven’t been to the cinema as often as needed and I didn’t honour the filmmaking art for almost three years. Well, if you thought this was a religious post, in a way you’re right since for me cinema and the ritual of going to the movie theatre has been like a religion. I used to write some collaborations for the Mexican daily newpaper unomásuno and my last “confession” was on late 2006.

Anyway, for several reasons, Sundays for me have been the most boring days of the week during all my life: I don’t attend church, I don’t like sports (to watch or practice for that matter) and I don’t have a big family (so, there are no gatherings). It’s a day in limbo where I must be prepared for Monday but there are no other options.

The only interesting stuff that happened on Sundays when I was a child was the fact that when my grandfather – in the unlikely event there was no soccer match on tv- left the tv for us to watch, we (there used to be more Bunts back then) gathered around the only colour tv set in the house to watch film classics like Easter Parade, On the Town, Anchors Aweigh or That’s Entertainment!  just to name a few.  Paradoxically, to this date I don’t like musicals.

Going to the actual movie theatre was not an option since under her  judgemental stare, my grandmother prevented us from going since she considered that only on Sundays “the help” was attending cinemas. So I was pretty much stuck in that week limbo.

So in this column I will talk precisely about neglected films, cult classics that the world forgot, one or two surprises that got into the theatres for a week, the ever-changing transition cinema is facing and some other stuff about what’s happening in the Mexican movie scene and I am very happy to collaborate in this blog since back in my film journalism days at unomásuno, I needed to be more “objective” but now I can loose myself into subjectivity.

So I welcome you, the reader, to come back every now and then to see our twodopeboyz blog and comment, suggest or whatever it’s in you to share. This column is for you too.

Next week I’ll start formally with the first film I’ll review: Terrence Malick’s Tree of Life. Not that neglected after all since it got the Palme d’Or at this year’s Cannes International Film Festival but you’ll see what I mean.

Have a great week and remember: in the cinema, the guy who has the final word is always the one who sells the pop-corn!

For the Spanish-speaking readers, these are almost all my collaborations in the past:

Comments

Leave a Reply

